My Top 5 University Living Essentials

Its been almost six months since I moved away from home to begin my new adventure at University, and what an eventful six months it has been. Nevertheless, I feel I have gained an impressive amount of knowledge into student life, and I feel I need to share this wisdom with soon to be students out there who are experiencing anxieties about what kinds of things you should be packing that can help ease you into this hard transition.

1. A mattress topper

If you are living in halls of residence, or sharing a house, you’re more than likely going to be provided with a dingy little single bed with a lumpy mattress, containing springs that jab you in the back when you roll over. My mum bought me a feathered mattress topper for about £30, and although this may seem a bit pricey, it is SO worth it! My bed is honestly so comfy and its all thanks to this wonderful invention!

2. Earplugs

If you’re like me and you love your sleep, this will be your holy grail item (especially if you’re living in halls of residence!!) Yeah I like to have a good time and go out with my friends, but I can’t be dealing with loud music playing all hours of the day, especially when I need my beauty sleep (I get very cranky when I’m sleep deprived lol). I bought some really cheap ones from Amazon which do the trick amazingly!

3. Pictures of friends and family

Most halls of residence will provide a pin-board in your room, which is probably meant for pinning up your assignments, important documents and all that boring stuff, but it is also perfect to make your room feel like home. I bought some basic drawing pins from Wilko (one of my favourite places to buy stationary as it’s super cheap) and printed out some of my favourite pictures of me with my friends and family and pinned them up how I wanted! Its surprising how such a simple touch to your room can make this unfamiliar place feel so much more comforting and homely. (I will include pictures of my pin-board in a future post as I am super proud of how cute it looks lol).

4. A toiletries bag

This will only apply to you if you’re in shared bathroom halls; I was horrified by the idea of this when I found out that I wasn’t going to be able to have an en suite. However, it really isn’t as bad as it seems, and there are plenty of ways to make the whole process better for yourself. My mum bought me a toiletries bag from Primark, and it’s honestly been one of my most used items since being at uni! It has two main storage areas which I use to store my shampoo, conditioner, shower gels and body pouf, and it then has two smaller pouches in the middle that I use to store razors and hairbands. I couldn’t find the exact one that I use, but I have found a similar one on Amazon that will provide the same functions. I love this bag so much as I do not want to leave my products in the bathroom incase somebody else uses them, and as I’m a skint ass student, I do not want to be buying new shampoo every five minutes.

5. Hand wash, hand sanitiser, anything antibacterial!

Before coming to university I was told so many horror stories of living in halls of residence and how messy it can be, and trust me, the stories are true! Unless you have a complete set of OCD flatmates, your kitchen is going to be a total bomb site every now and then (most of the time for me), so I am always cleaning the surfaces before I make any food, and I am constantly washing my hands when I come back into my room (I have a sink in my room thank God). My favourite is the Carex Love Hearts hand wash as it smells AMAZING and always leaves my hands feeling really clean. Thankfully I am in catered halls so I do not have to cook a lot of food, but when I do I like to make sure that I am hygienic.

Leave a Reply

